### WAVERLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL

### SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING – 19 DECEMBER 2017

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND HOUSING ACT 1989

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (COMMITTEES AND POLITICAL GROUPS)

REGULATIONS 1990

- 1. The Council is under a duty to review the allocation of seats on the principal Committees, namely the four Overview and Scrutiny Committees and the Regulatory Committees, i.e. the Licensing and Regulatory Committee and the Joint Planning Committee, at, or as soon as practicable after, any change to the political composition of the Council. Calculations giving the allocation of seats are set out below.
- 2. Following the resignation of Cllr Simon Thornton and the resulting by-election for the Godalming Central and Ockford Ward, Cllr Paul Follows has been elected to the Council as a Liberal Democrat. The Conservative and Farnham Residents Groups are registered under the provisions of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The political breakdown of the Council is now:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Liberal Democrat		
	_			
50	6	1		

- 3. To calculate the allocation of seats on principal committees, it is necessary to proceed as follows:-
  - (i) Total number of seats on all relevant committees 78
  - (ii) Proportion that each registered political group and the single Liberal Democrat member forms of the total membership of the Authority in accordance with the above registration:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Liberal Democrat
87.72%	10.53 %	1.754 %

(iii) Apply proportions to the relevant Committees to arrive at a total share of seats:-

Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Liberal Democrat	
69 (by rounding)	8 (by rounding)	1 (by rounding)	

(iv) Apply proportions to each principal committee to give a provisional entitlement:-

Committee	No. of Seats	Conservative Group	Farnham Residents	Liberal Democrat
Overview and Scrutiny:  1. Customer Service and VFM	9	8	1	0
and vi ivi	9	8	1	0
Community     Wellbeing	9	8	1	0
3. Environment				
4. Housing	9	8	1	0
Others:				
Licensing &     Regulatory     Committee	12	11	1	0
Joint Planning     Committee	23	20	2	1
3. Audit	7	6	1	0
	<u>78</u>	<u>69</u>	<u>8</u>	1
Standards Panel	8 (+1)	8	1	0

- 4. As a result of the by-election, the vacancy on the Joint Planning Committee will be filled by Cllr Paul Follows.
- 5. There is one remaining vacancy resulting from the resignation of Cllr Thornton on the Community Wellbeing Overview and Scrutiny Committee. This vacancy remains to be filled by the Conservative Group.

# Central Area Planning Committee

6. As a result of the by-election, Councillor Paul Follows will be appointed to fill the vacancy on the Central Area Planning Committee as the second councillor for the Godalming Central and Ockford ward and according to proportionality calculations for the area. The membership of the Committee will then be as follows:-

Cllr David Else (Chairman)

Cllr Maurice Byham (Vice-Chairman)

Cllr Andrew Bolton

**Cllr Paul Follows** 

Cllr Nicholas Holder

**Cllr David Hunter** 

Cllr Anna James

Cllr Denis Leigh

Cllr Peter Martin

Cllr Tom Martin

Cllr Stefan Reynolds Cllr Bob Upton Cllr Liz Wheatley Cllr Nick Williams

# Recommendation

# It is recommended that

- 1. the political proportions and allocation of seats to the principal Committees for the remainder of the current Council year be agreed, as set out at paragraph 3 above; and
- 2. Cllr Paul Follows be appointed to the Central Area Planning Committee and Joint Planning Committee with effect from 20 December 2017.

\_ \_ \_ \_ \_ \_